A Poem About Grief: I’ll Be Missing You My Sweet Sister

I have this yearning deep down inside

This homesick feeling that won’t subside

My heart hurts more than one could imagine

I can’t comprehend why this has happened

My soul longs to feel your presence

But all I am left with is a sweater that has your essence 

I miss your voice so soft and sweet

I am counting the days until again we can meet

I need you beside me to survive this life

But you won’t return even when I pray with all my might

I guess God didn’t know

Just how bad I needed you so

My soul is lost now that you’re not here

I wish we had, had at least another eighty years 

One thought on “A Poem About Grief: I’ll Be Missing You My Sweet Sister

Leave a Reply

