The strength of a sister 

On the day you were born, I knew right then,

That you would be beside me through thick and thin.

A little baby sister, to have as my own,

How lucky I was to have a best friend who also shared my home.

At five years old I was given a task,

To watch over and protect you, even when not asked.

When we were little, I thought it was me who was strong,

But as we grew older, I realized I had it wrong all along.

As your big sister, I always thought you needed me,

But after losing you I have been reminded that I was only strong because you taught me to be.

Since you’ve gone away,

I’ve feel like I’ve lost all purpose for my days. 

But I have decided that I must continue carrying out my task down here,

Because I am still your big sister even if you are not near.

I’m sure you are safe in His mansion in the sky,

I guess maybe our roles have shifted, maybe the one who needs protecting now is I.

So to you my sweet sister I am making a vow,

I promise to remain strong even on days that I don’t know how.

As your big sister, I should be watching over you,

But now that you’re with our Father, there’s not much protecting I can do.

So if you don’t mind, I have a favor to ask,

Will you please take over my task?

It seems kind of backwards that my baby sister should be strong now for me,

But then I remember that I was only strong because you taught me to be.

Leave a Reply

