A Life To Endure

In this world of pain and chaos

There’s only one thing I know to be true

No matter how hard life gets

I will be ok because absolutely nothing can compare to losing you

No disappointment or betrayal will ever devastate me again

Because I know the pain of losing my little sister, my best friend

The day you died I lost half of my soul

I am no longer the me I used to be, I am no longer whole

Your death has left me broken, there’s no doubt about that

And the only remedy would be for you to come back

It wasn’t your choice to leave so soon

But I will spend my life forever missing you

Children grow up knowing that someday their parents will go

But siblings are meant to have each other and together grow old

At only nineteen, your future was stolen

And I must fight each day not to be angry and sullen

I now understand that this life isn’t about being happy and having fun

But rather it’s about spending each day with our eyes on the Son

Little sister, I miss you more than any words can describe

I can’t help but wonder if this is what God felt the day that Jesus died

It’s different of course because when Jesus died he got to see his Father right then

But rather than bringing us together, your death has separated us until the end

Although it seems unfair I try to remember

That before being reunited, God had to watch his Son endure a life and death being tortured by sinners

For Jesus, death delivered him from pain

But his death was for us, it wasn’t in vain

Jesus was tormented, his body was beyond recognition

But his brutal death meant that he had completed his mission

So although I must hurt every day knowing that my little sister has died

I will continue to endure because I have been promised that we will be together again when we meet in the sky

2 thoughts on “A Life To Endure

  1. Sara this is absolutely beautiful and so true .. I miss my family that left me all to soon and I’m so sorry for your loss bc kacy was just beginning her life ..
    Much love your way .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment